Recruitment advertising for frontline employers

Hiring guards across states? Boostpoint puts the card requirement in your ad and your first screening question.

Book a demo

Hiring complianceRead at source, 30 September 2026

Security Guard License Requirements by State (Employer’s Table)

Most states license or register unarmed security guards, but not all. Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming have no state license for unarmed guards; Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Pennsylvania and West Virginia license the security company, not the guard; Georgia requires 24 hours of training without registration. Training differs too — 4 hours in Tennessee, 8 before applying in New York, 40 in Florida — and in some states the guard applies, in others the employer. The table has every state.

Why licensing sets your hiring timeline: card in hand vs sponsoring the card

Every guard you hire is one of two hires. A guard who already holds a current registration in your state can start when your own background check and post orders are done. A guard new to the trade starts when the state says, after pre-assignment training, fingerprints and the agency’s review. The table below is what sets that second calendar.

The rules differ in ways that change a start date. New York wants 8 hours of training before the application goes in. Texas lets a guard work 48 hours after a complete application is filed, South Carolina for up to 30 days after SLED receives it, and Virginia for 90 days with fingerprints submitted and an employer authorization. California publishes a processing time of about four to six weeks. Our guide to how to hire security guards walks through the ride-along and offer around those dates.

State-by-state table: unarmed license, agency, training hours, who applies, processing time

“Who applies” means who files with the state; in almost every licensing state the guard must also work for a licensed company. “Not published” means the agency page we read gives no processing time.

Unarmed security guard licensing by state
StateUnarmed license?Agency and sourceUnarmed trainingWho appliesProcessing time
AlabamaYesAlabama Security Regulatory Board8 hours basic from a certified trainerGuard; must name the licensed company; temporary license on filingNot published
AlaskaYesDept. of Public Safety (13 AAC 60.110)8 hours before applying; 40 hours in-service within 180 days; 8 a yearGuard; temporary permit availableNot published
ArizonaYesDept. of Public Safety8-hour pre-assignment classGuard, working for a licensed agencyAllow at least 15 business days before asking for status
ArkansasYesState Police (17 CAR § 350-1001)Phase I, 8 hours, plus examGuard (private security officer application)Not published
CaliforniaYesBureau of Security and Investigative ServicesPower to Arrest before registration; 32 hours within 6 months; 8 a yearGuardAbout 4-6 weeks
ColoradoNo state licenseNone statewide; Denver licenses guards locally———
ConnecticutYesDESPP (C.G.S. § 29-161q)State-approved course; hours not stated by DESPPGuard gets the card; company registers the guard; may work with a pending applicationNot published
DelawareYesState Police Professional LicensingMandatory training program and exam; hours not statedGuard; 15-day email approval to work while the card is mailedAsk after 10 business days
FloridaYes (Class D)Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Fla. Stat. § 493.6303)40 hoursGuardNot published
GeorgiaNo, but training requiredBoard of Private Detective and Security Agencies24 hours (Rule 509-3-.02)Hiring company trains—
HawaiiYesBoard of Private Detectives and Guards8 hours before the first day of serviceGuardNot published
IdahoNo state licenseNone; Idaho Code Title 54 (professions) has no security or investigator chapter———
IllinoisYes (PERC)IDFPR (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1240.505)20 hours within 30 days of starting; 8 a yearGuardNot published
IndianaNo; company licensedProfessional Licensing Agency—Security guard agency—
IowaYes (employee ID card)Dept. of Public SafetyNone stated for employeesEmployee of a licensed agencyNot published
KansasNo state licenseNone; the Attorney General licenses private detectives only, and K.S.A. 75-7b03(l) excludes private patrol services———
KentuckyNo state licenseNone; KRS 329A licenses private investigators only———
LouisianaYesBoard of Private Security Examiners (La. R.S. 37:3284)8 hours within 30 days of first assignment; 8 more within 60 daysGuard files; the licensed employer forwards it to the board (R.S. 37:3283); temporary registration carried until the card arrivesNot published
MaineNo; company licensedState Police (32 M.R.S. § 9410-A)—Company reports each guard before work starts—
MarylandYes (certification)State Police Licensing Division12 hours initialGuard employed by (or applying to) a licensed agency or registered employerDecision by email within 90 days
MassachusettsNo; company licensedState Police (M.G.L. c. 147, §§ 22-25)—Watch, guard or patrol agency—
MichiganNo; company licensedLARA (MCL 338.1067)—Agency vets and is accountable for employees—
MinnesotaNo; company licensedBoard of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services (Minn. Stat. § 326.336)12 hours within 21 days of hire; 6 a yearEmployer submits fingerprints; guard cannot serve until cleared—
MississippiNo state licenseNone; Miss. Code Title 73 (professions) has no security or investigator chapter———
MissouriNo state licenseNone statewide; Kansas City’s police board licenses security personnel (RSMo 84.720)———
MontanaYesBoard of Private Security16 hoursGuard; proof of employment needed before issueNot published
NebraskaNo state licenseNone for guards; the Secretary of State licenses private detectives and plain clothes investigators (Neb. Rev. Stat. 71-3201)———
NevadaYes (registered employee)Private Investigators Licensing Board (NAC 648.341)Board exam passed at 100% before employment; no hour minimum statedEmployee registers through the licenseeNot published
New HampshireYesState Police (RSA 106-F:3)None stated in statuteGuard, before becoming an employeeNot published
New JerseyYes (SORA)State Police Private Detective UnitApproved course within 30 days of applying; 8-hour refresher every 2 yearsGuard applies; agency registers; 30-day temporary certificateNot published
New MexicoYes (level one)Regulation and Licensing Dept. (16.48.2.17 NMAC)8 hours plus jurisprudence examGuardNot published
New YorkYesDepartment of State8 hours before applying; 16 on the job within 90 days; 8 a yearGuardNot published
North CarolinaYes (registration)Private Protective Services Board (14B NCAC 16 .0707)16 hours within 30 days of permanent hire; 4 within 20 days on postEmployer files; guard applies; 20-day probationary periodNot published
North DakotaYes (registration)Private Investigative and Security Board (N.D.A.C. 93-02-02.1)12 hours within 30 days of registrationAgency obtains the registrationNot published
OhioYes (registration)Ohio Homeland Security (R.C. 4749.06)None stated for unarmedCompany files 3-7 days after hireNot published
OklahomaYesCLEETPhase I and II plus state exam; 8 hours continuing educationGuard, with letter of employmentNot published
OregonYes (certification)DPSST14 hoursGuardNot published
PennsylvaniaNo; company licensedCounty court of common pleas (Private Detective Act of 1953)—Guard company; it takes a verified employee statement and files each guard’s fingerprints with the court—
Rhode IslandYes (registration)Attorney General (R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-5.1-18)None statedGuard files a registration statement with the licensed companyNot published
South CarolinaYes (registration)SLED (S.C. Code § 40-18-80)SLED primary basic course; hours not statedCompany or guard; may work 30 days after SLED receives it, unarmedMust stop work if not issued in 30 days
South DakotaNo state licenseNone; SDCL Title 36 (professions) has no security or investigator chapter———
TennesseeYesDept. of Commerce and Insurance4 hoursGuard employed by a licensed companyNot published
TexasYesDept. of Public SafetyLevel II course and testGuard; may work 48 hours after a complete applicationNot published
UtahYesDOPL8 hoursGuardNot published
VermontYes (registration)Office of Professional Regulation8 hours before registrationGuard, under a licensed agencyNot published
VirginiaYes (registration)DCJS18 hours; 4 hours in-serviceGuard; may work 90 days with employer authorizationNot published
WashingtonYesDept. of Licensing (RCW 18.170.105)8 hours pre-assignment; 8 post-assignment; 4 a yearLicensed company submits itUp to 60 days
West VirginiaNo; firm licensedSecretary of State—Individual license only if self-employed—
WisconsinYes (permit)DSPS (Wis. Stat. § 440.26)None statedGuard; 30-day temporary permit while the background check is pendingNot published
WyomingNo state licenseNone; Wyo. Stat. Title 33 (professions) has no security or investigator chapter———

Sources: the licensing board page, statute or rule linked in each row, read at source 30 September 2026. Cities and counties can add their own rules. General information, not legal advice.

Armed guard requirements (summary)

In the licensing states we read, armed work is a separate credential on top of the unarmed one, with its own firearms training and qualification. Examples from the same sources: Arizona requires a 16-hour initial armed class and 8 hours a year; Arkansas adds a 16-hour Phase II with 8 hours on the range; Georgia requires at least 15 hours of handgun training; New York requires 47 hours of firearms training and a New York pistol license; Ohio requires 20 hours of handgun training; Oregon adds a 24-hour firearms course; Texas requires a Level III course of at least 45 hours; Virginia’s armed officer entry-level training totals 50 hours; Delaware’s firearms course is at least 40 hours. Pennsylvania, which licenses guard companies through county courts but not individual unarmed guards, requires armed guards to hold Act 235 lethal weapons certification from the State Police. Connecticut adds an armed endorsement to the state pistol permit, with an 8-hour course and a yearly refresher.

Company (agency) licensing vs individual guard licensing

Two licenses are in play and the table tracks only the second. Many states license the company that sells guard services — California’s private patrol operator license, New Jersey’s licensed security agency, Massachusetts’ watch, guard or patrol agency license. The individual guard license or registration is the one that gates a hire.

  • Company-only states put the vetting on you. Minnesota makes the employer fingerprint each new guard, who “may not serve as a private detective or protective agent, but may be trained by the employer” until the state report comes back. Maine requires the company to report each guard before they start and to check their background. Michigan holds the licensee accountable for every employee’s conduct. Pennsylvania licenses the guard company through the county court and makes it collect a verified statement and fingerprints from every employee.
  • In-house security is treated differently from state to state. Tennessee, for example, registers guards employed by a proprietary security organization as well as by contract companies. If your guards work for you rather than for a guard company, read your state’s definitions before assuming you are exempt.
  • Who pays and files varies: in South Carolina the company may apply and pay or require the guard to; in Washington the licensed company submits the guard’s application; in Texas an employer may pay for the renewal.

Recruiting licensed guards vs sponsoring new ones

The BLS counts 1,294,300 security guard jobs in 2025, projects about 156,000 openings a year through 2035 on 0.9% growth, and puts the median wage at $38,020 (BLS Employment Projections 2025-35; BLS, May 2025 median annual wage). With openings that far above growth, most of the hiring replaces guards who leave, and the carded guards you want are usually standing a post for another employer.

  • Recruit card-in-hand when a post has to be covered this week. Put “current state guard card required” in the first line of the ad and ask for it as a yes-or-no screening question. Our security guard job description has the requirements language and security guard interview questions covers the interview.
  • Sponsor new guards to build a bench. Budget the training hours in your state’s row as paid time, pay the fees, and plan the start date around the processing column. Fees, training and bill rates are on the cost to hire a security guard.

Boostpoint’s benchmark has no security role family, so there is no security cost per applicant to quote. Across all 891 campaigns in Boostpoint’s 2026 Social Job Advertising Benchmark, the median campaign cost $13.88 per applicant and the volume-weighted average was $8.02, with the middle half between $6.48 and $29.74 (benchmarks). That is the overall figure, not a guard figure, and cost per applicant is not cost per hire. Employment ads on Facebook and Instagram run under Meta’s special ad category, so the post, the shift and the card requirement in the ad do the targeting.

Frequently asked questions

Which states require a security guard license?

Most states license or register unarmed guards individually. We found no state license in Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wyoming, though cities such as Denver and Kansas City license guards locally. Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Pennsylvania and West Virginia license the company, and Georgia requires 24 hours of training without registration.

How long does it take to get a guard card?

Few agencies publish a time. California says about four to six weeks, Washington up to 60 days after a complete application, and Maryland sends a decision by email within 90 days. Training comes first in many states, such as 8 hours in New York before the application goes in. Most other agencies publish no processing time.

Does the employer or the guard apply for the license?

Usually the guard applies and must work for a licensed company, as in California, New York and Florida. In some states the employer files: Washington’s licensed company submits the application, Ohio’s company registers the guard within 3 to 7 days of hire, and North Dakota’s agency obtains the registration. South Carolina lets either one apply.

How many training hours does a security guard need?

It depends on the state. For example, Tennessee requires 4 hours; Alabama, Arizona, Hawaii, Utah and Vermont 8; Oregon 14; North Carolina and Montana 16; Virginia 18; Illinois 20; Georgia 24; and Florida 40. Several states add on-the-job or annual training, such as New York’s 16 hours within 90 days and 8 hours a year.

Can I hire a guard before the license is issued?

You can hire, but whether they can work a post depends on the state. Texas allows work 48 hours after a complete application, South Carolina up to 30 days after SLED receives it, Virginia 90 days with an employer authorization, and North Carolina a 20-day probationary period. Alabama and New Jersey issue temporary credentials. Minnesota lets new guards train but not serve until cleared.

Do armed guards need a separate license?

Yes. In the licensing states we checked, armed work needs its own permit or endorsement with firearms training, such as 47 hours plus a pistol license in New York, a Level III course of at least 45 hours in Texas, and 20 hours of handgun training in Ohio. Pennsylvania requires Act 235 certification for armed guards even though it does not license individual unarmed guards.

Fill guard posts with the right card

Boostpoint Attract turns your security openings into Facebook and Instagram job ads with a one-minute mobile application, and the software builds and optimizes the campaigns, so card-in-hand and sponsored-card hires each get their own ad. For what it costs, see pricing.

Book a Demo

Sources: each state’s security licensing board page, statute or administrative rule, linked in the state table and read at source 30 September 2026; BLS Employment Projections 2025-35; BLS, May 2025 median annual wage; Boostpoint 2026 Social Job Advertising Benchmark. General information, not legal advice. Last verified 30 September 2026. Read at source 30 September 2026.